Lionel Bowen
AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Lionel Bowen

Personal data
Date of birth28 December 1922(age 87)
Place of birthUltimo, New South Wales
Political partyAustralian Labor Party
SpouseClaire Clement
Alma materUniversity of Sydney
Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
In office11 March 1983 - 4 April 1990
Prime ministerBob Hawke
Succeeded byPaul Keating
Preceded byDoug Anthony
In office25 October 1969 - 19 February 1990
Succeeded byLaurie Brereton
Preceded byDaniel Curtin

     Home | Office Holder | Lionel Bowen

Lionel Frost Bowen AC (born 28 December 1922), Australian politician, was a senior Labor Party figure, serving in the ministries of Gough Whitlam and Bob Hawke. He was Deputy Prime Minister of Australia from 1983 to 1990.

Latest News : Lionel Bowen : Tweet this RSS

Lionel Bowen Young Writers' Award open for entries - Cumberland Courier Newspapers Tweet this news
Cumberland Courier Newspapers--Named after retired state and federal politician -Lionel- Frost -Bowen- AM, the -Lionel Bowen- Young Writers' Award gives young people the opportunity to ... - Date : Fri, 07 May 2010 07:27:06 GMT+00:00
Still plenty to work on - Columbia Daily Tribune Tweet this news
Columbia Daily Tribune--I've got to be able to be like a Bruce -Bowen-, knocking corner 3s down then get back and make havoc for somebody on defense.” -Bowen-, who played in 13 NBA ... - Date : Thu, 29 Apr 2010 19:16:32 GMT+00:00

Preceded by
Alan Hulme
1972 - 1974
Succeeded by
Reg Bishop
Preceded by
Don Willesee
Special Minister of State
1973 - 1975
Succeeded by
Douglas McClelland
Preceded by
James McClelland
Minister for Manufacturing Industry
Succeeded by
Robert Cotton
|rows=2Preceded by
Doug Anthony
Deputy Prime Minister
1983 - 1990
Succeeded by
Paul Keating
Preceded by
Mick Young
Minister for Trade
1983 - 1984
Succeeded by
John Dawkins
|before = Gareth Evans Vice-President of the Executive Council
1983 - 1987
Succeeded by
Mick Young
Preceded by
Daniel Curtin
|title = Attorney-General
1984 - 1990
Succeeded by
Michael Duffy
Preceded by
Tom Uren
Member for Kingsford Smith
1969 - 1990
Succeeded by
Laurie Brereton
Deputy Leader of the Australian Labor Party
1977 - 1990
Succeeded by
Paul Keating

Privacy | Sitemap