AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Leicestershire County Cricket Club

Leicestershire County Cricket Club
CountyLeicestershire County Cricket Club
OnedayLeicestershire Foxes
SecondteamLeicestershire 2nd XI
CoachEngland Phil Whitticase
CaptainEngland Matthew Hoggard
OverseasAustralia Andrew McDonald
GroundGrace Road
Title3FP Trophy
Title4Twenty20 Cup

     Home | cricket team | Leicestershire County Cricket Club

Leicestershire County Cricket Club is one of the 18 major county clubs which make up the English and Welsh national cricket structure, representing the historic county of Leicestershire. It has also been representative of the county of Rutland.

Its limited overs team is called the Leicestershire Foxes. Their kit colours are red with black trim in the clydedale bank 40 and black with red trim in the t20. The shirt sponsors are Oval Insurance Broking with Highcross Leicester (shopping centre) on the top reverse side of the shirt.

The club is based at Grace Road, Leicester and have also played home games at Aylestone Road in Leicester, at Hinckley, Loughborough, Melton Mowbray, Ashby-de-la-Zouch and in Coalville inside the traditional county boundaries; and at Uppingham and Oakham over the border in Rutland.

Leicestershire are in the second divisions of the County Championship and in group c of the Pro40 one day league. They recently finished bottom of the County Championship for the first time since the introduction of two divisions. Their best showing in recent years has been in the Twenty20 Cup with the Foxes winning the trophy three times in eight years.

Leicestershire County Cricket Club Video

India cricket star Cheteshwar Pujara was given out for 'handling the ball' in Derbyshire's LV= County Championship match with Leicestershire.
0.63 min. | 4.42 user rating
Paul Nixon takes us on a tour of his old home ground from the challenges to the old nets that used to be tennis courts, this is the real insight into the LV= County Championship.
12.80 min. | 4.94 user rating
Charlie Shrek dazzles with a deft pirouette before being run out during Leicestershire's LV= County Championship game with Glamorgan.
0.30 min. | 5.0 user rating
Leicestershire's Ben Raine endures a slow death as the ball trickles back onto his stumps to give Shaaiq Choudhry of Worcestershire a wicket.
0.23 min. | 4.5 user rating
Atif Sheikh claimed a hat-trick in only his second LV= County Championship game for Leicestershire as they fought back on the second day against Gloucestershire at Bristol in Division Two....
0.75 min. | 5.0 user rating
Worcestershire bowler Alan Richardson took a hat-trick against Leicestershire in their LV= County Championship clash.
0.55 min. | 5.0 user rating
Here are the highlights from the thrilling NatWest T20 Blast, East Midlands Derby between the Steelbacks and Leicestershire Foxes.
7.88 min. | 5.0 user rating
Umpire Nick Cook is nearly run over by the Old Trafford hover cover while trying to retrieve the stumps during a rain break in a T20 game between Lancashire and Leicestershire.
1.17 min. | 5.0 user rating
Bexley Rangers beat Sunbury Chieftains to win the NatWest U19 Club T20 at Leicestershire's Grace Road. England and Nottinghamshire star Stuart Broad was present to hand over the trophy to...
5.05 min. | 5.0 user rating
Highlights of the Leicestershire Foxes innings which included a brilliant half-century from Tom Well. However, it was not enough to prevent the home side losing by 25 runs to Birmingham Bears...
1.62 min. | 5.0 user rating

Latest News : Leicestershire County Cricket Club : Tweet this RSS

Want to Leicestershire County Cricket Club latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Leicestershire County Cricket Club     sign in with twitter   ||  cricket_team     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
The Friday Interview: Tim Boon's legacy to Leicestershire CCC - Leicester Mercury Tweet this news
Leicester Mercury--"That has helped the young players at the -club- to develop into players who could well be playing for -Leicestershire- for the next decade. ... - Date : Fri, 08 Oct 2010 08:56:33 GMT+00:00

2011 squad :
No. Name Nat Batting Style Bowling Style Notes
11 Matthew Boyce England LHB RM
8 Jacques Du Toit South Africa RHB RFM
5 Josh Cobb England RHB LS England U-19
1 Will Jefferson England RHB England Lions
14 Greg Smith England RHB SLA England U-19
9 James Taylor England RHB LS England England Lions, England U-19
57 Shiv Thakor England RHB RM England U-19
25 Will Jones EnglandAustralia LHB
4 Andrew McDonald Australia RHB RM Australia
35 Wayne White England RHB RFM
12 Abdul Razzaq Pakistan RHB RFM Pakistan cricket team ODI, T20 internationals
18 Tom New England RHB RM England U-19
3 Paul Nixon England LHB LM England
84 Paul Dixey England RHB England U-19
17 Nathan Buck England RHB RFM England Lions, England U-19
6 Harry Gurney England RHB LFM Joining Nottinghamshire
15 Claude Henderson South Africa RHB SLA South Africa, spin bowling coach
77 Matthew Hoggard (c) England RHB RFM England
21 Nadeem Malik England RHB RFM
22 Jigar Naik England RHB OS
16 Alex Wyatt England RHB RFM

Notable Players :
Player Runs
Les Berry 30143
Maurice Hallam 23662
John King 22618
Cecil Wood 21872
Ewart Astill 19879
Norman Armstrong 19001
Nigel Briers 18726
Maurice Tompkin 18590
Brian Davison 18537
Albert Knight 18142
Chris Balderstone 17627
Samuel Coe 17367

Notable Players :
Player Wickets
Ewart Astill 2131
George Geary 1759
Terry Spencer 1320
Jack Walsh 1127
John King 1100
Haydon Smith 1076
Vic Jackson 930
Jack Birkenshaw 908
John Savage 816
William Odell 650
Jonathan Agnew 632

English and Welsh first-class cricket clubs

Derbyshire * Durham * Essex * Glamorgan * Gloucestershire * Hampshire * Kent * Lancashire * Leicestershire * Middlesex * Northamptonshire * Nottinghamshire * Somerset * Surrey * Sussex * Warwickshire * Worcestershire * Yorkshire
MCC * Cambridge University * Durham UCCE * Loughborough UCCE * Oxford University

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting