AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Jimmie Johnson

Jimmie Johnson
Johnson in the Diplomatic Reception Room of the White House, August 2009
Personal information
NameJimmie Kenneth Johnson
NASCAR Sprint Cup Series statistics
Car #, teamNo. 48 � Hendrick Motorsports
Sprint Cup position1st (2010)
Best cup position1st � 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
First race2001 UAW-GM Quality 500 (Charlotte)
First win2002 NAPA Auto Parts 500 (California)
Last win2011 Hollywood Casino 400 (Kansas)
Cup Wins55
Top tens223
Pole position25
NASCAR Nationwide Series statistics
Best NNS position8th � 2001
First race1998 Kroger 200 (IRP)
First win2001 Sam's Club Presents Hill Bros. Coffee 300 (Chicago)
Last win2001 Sam's Club Presents Hill Bros. Coffee 300 (Chicago)
Top tens24
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series statistics
Best NCWTS position104th � 2008
First race2008 O'Reilly 200 (Bristol)

     Home | Motorsports | Jimmie Johnson

Jimmie Kenneth Johnson (born September 17, 1975) is an American NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race car driver. He currently drives the No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports.

Johnson was born in El Cajon, California, and began racing motorcycles at the age of five. After graduating from Granite Hills High School he competed in off-road series. He raced in Mickey Thompson Entertainment Group (MTEG), Short-course Off-road Drivers Association (SODA) and SCORE International, winning rookie of the year in each series. In 1998, Johnson and his team began stock car racing. He moved to the national American Speed Association (ASA) series for late model touring cars, and won another rookie of the year title. In 2000, he switched to the NASCAR Busch Series (now Nationwide Series).

He moved to Hendrick Motorsports in the Sprint Cup Series in 2002. After finishing fifth in the points in his first full season, he was second in 2003 and 2004 and fifth in 2005. Johnson won his first Cup series championship in 2006 and with further wins in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010 became the only driver in NASCAR history to win five consecutive championships. Between 2002 and 2011, Johnson has recorded 55 wins, 223 top-tens, and 25 pole positions.

Johnson became the first racing driver to become Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year (U.S.) in 2009, and has won Driver of the Year four times, most recently in 2010.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260