AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

House of Representatives of Trinidad and Tobago

Background Color#006400
Text Color#FFFFFF
NameThe House of Representatives of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Coa Res110px
House TypeLower House
Leader1 TypeSpeaker
Leader1Hon. Wade Mark
Election1October 17, 2002
Leader2 TypeDeputy Speaker
Leader2Hon. Dr. Fuad Khan
Last Election124 May 2010
Meeting PlaceRed House, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

     Home | Legislature | House of Representatives of Trinidad and Tobago

The House of Representatives is the elected Lower House of the bicameral Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. The House of Representatives sits in the Red House in Port of Spain. It has 41 members, each elected to represent single-seat constituencies. The Parliament is elected with a five-year life-span, but may be dissolved earlier by the President at any time if so advised by the Prime Minister.

After an election, the person with the most support among the members of the House is appointed Prime Minister and asked to form a government. With the exception of 1995 and 2001 this has been the leader of the party which wins a majority of seats in the house.

Five constituencies were added in the 2007 election; there were only 36 constituencies prior to 2007. There are now 41 costituencies.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260