AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share


General information
Common nameGuyana
NameCo-operative Republic of Guyana
Motto"One People, One Nation, One Destiny"
Anthem"Dear Land of Guyana, of Rivers and Plains"
Largest citycapital
Official languagesEnglish
Regional languagesPortuguese, Hindi, Spanish, Akawaio, Macushi, Wai Wai, Arawak, Patamona, Warrau, Carib, Wapishiana, Arekuna
National languageGuyanese Creole
Ethnic groupsEast Indian 43.5%
Black (African) 30.2%
Mixed 16.7%
Amerindian 9.1%
Other 0.5%
GovernmentSemi-presidential republic
PresidentBharrat Jagdeo
Prime MinisterSam Hinds
Former ColoniesFormer Colonies
Dutch Guiana1667 1814
British Guiana1814 1966
Total Area83000 sq mi (214970 km2) (84th)
Water %8.4
Population Est.752,9401 (161st)
Population census751223 (2002)
Density (pop.)3.5/km2 (225th) (9.071/sq mi)
GDP PPP$5.379 billion (2010)
GDP (PPP) per capita$6,964
GDP (nominal)$2.215 billion (2010)
GDP (nominal) per capita$2,868
Other information
HDI(+) 0.611 (2010) (medium) (107th)
CurrencyGuyanese dollar (GYD)
Time zoneGYT Guyana Time (UTC-4)
Drives on theright
Calling code592

     Home | Country | Guyana

Guyana ( ), officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, previously the colony of British Guiana, is a sovereign state on the northern coast of South America that is culturally part of the Anglophone Caribbean. Guyana was a former colony of the Dutch and (for over 200 years) of the British. It is the only state of the Commonwealth of Nations on mainland South America, and it is also a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which has its secretariat headquarters in Guyana's capital, Georgetown. Guyana achieved independence from the United Kingdom on 26 May 1966, and became a Republic on 23 February 1970.

Historically, the region known as "Guiana" or "Guayana" comprised the large shield landmass north of the Amazon River and east of the Orinoco River known as the "Land of many waters". Historic Guyana is made up of three Dutch colonies: Essequibo, Demerara, and Berbice. Modern Guyana is bordered to the east by Suriname, to the south and southwest by Brazil, to the west by Venezuela, and on the north by the Atlantic Ocean.

At 215,000 km2, Guyana is the third-smallest independent state on the mainland of South America (after Uruguay and Suriname). Its population is approximately 770,000, a plurality of which are of East Indian descent.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260