AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Guy Smith

NameGuy Smith
CaptionGuy Smith during the autograph session in Spa 2009.
NationalityGB British
Years  -  ,   -  ,   -
Team(s)Johansson-Matthews Racing, Team Bentley, Audi Sport UK Team Veloqx, Quifel ASM Team
Best Finish1st ( )
Class Wins1 ( )

     Home | Le Mans driver | Guy Smith

Guy Smith (born 12 September 1974 in Beverley, England, UK) is a motor racing driver who has competed in various levels of motorsport.

Smith started racing karts in 1987, winning the British Championship, and in 1991 finished second in the Senior World Championship. In 1992 he moved into auto racing, winning the British Formula Renault Championship in 1995 and tested a Williams Formula 1 car. He went on to win his first Formula 3 race from pole position. In 1998 he moved to America to contest the Indy Lights series finishing 3rd in the Championship and been crowned 'Rookie of the Year'.

Since then he has raced primarily in the American Le Mans Series and Grand-Am series, posting an overall win at the 2003 24 Hours of Le Mans with co-drivers Tom Kristensen and Rinaldo Capello driving a Bentley Speed 8. In 2004 he made his Champ Car debut the second half of the season for Paul Gentilozzi's Rocketsports team.

Smith raced for Dyson Racing in the American Le Mans Series between 2006 and 2009.

It was announced on 15 February 2010 that Smith would be competing in the 2010 24 Hours of Le Mans with the Rebellion Racing Team driving a Lola B10/60 in the LMP1 class.

Guy Smith Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Guy Smith : Tweet this RSS

Want to Guy Smith latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Guy Smith     sign in with twitter   ||  Le_Mans_driver     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Guy Smith thwarted in Series finale - The Press, York Tweet this news
The Press, York--EAST Yorkshire driver -Guy Smith- suffered disappointment in the American Le Mans Series' closing 1000-mile Petit Le Mans race at Road Atlanta. ... - Date : Tue, 05 Oct 2010 08:55:45 GMT+00:00
Guy Smith CD Release Party - Tweet this news Smith- CD Release Party October 15 from 8 to 10 pm at Al's Corner Pub (located at Cathcart and James Streets, across from the James Street Furniture ... - Date : Thu, 14 Oct 2010 14:02:22 GMT+00:00
5 things you need to know about O-lineman Mike Smith's recovery - Tweet this news"I was just blocking my -guy-," -Smith- said, "and somehow the guard and center were blocking the defensive tackle, and I think all three of them decided to ... - Date : Wed, 27 Oct 2010 03:18:13 GMT+00:00

Preceded by
James Matthews
British Club Driver of the Year

Succeeded by
Peter Dumbreck
Sporting positions
Preceded by
James Matthews
British Formula Renault
UK series champion

Succeeded by
Enrique Bernoldi
Preceded by
Frank Biela
Tom Kristensen
Emanuele Pirro
Winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans
2003 with:
Tom Kristensen
Rinaldo Capello
Succeeded by
Seiji Ara
Tom Kristensen
Rinaldo Capello

Le Mans :
Year Team Car Team mate Team mate Position
2000 US Johansson-Matthews Racing Reynard 2KQ-LM SE Stefan Johansson US Jim Matthews DNF
2001 UK Team Bentley Bentley Exp Speed 8 UK Martin Brundle FR Stéphane Ortelli DNF
2003 UK Team Bentley Bentley Speed 8 DK Tom Kristensen IT Rinaldo Capello 1st
2004 UK Audi Sport UK Team Veloqx Audi R8 UK Johnny Herbert UK Jamie Davies 2nd
2008 PT Quifel ASM Team Lola B05/40 PT Miguel Amaral FR Olivier Pla 20th
2009 PT Quifel ASM Team Ginetta-Zytek GZ09S/2 PT Miguel Amaral FR Olivier Pla DNF
2010 SWI Rebellion Racing Lola B10/60 IT Andrea Belicchi FR Jean-Christophe Boullion DNF
2011 SWI Rebellion Racing Lola B10/60 IT Andrea Belicchi FR Jean-Christophe Boullion DNF

Champ Car :

Winners of Autosport's British Club Driver of the Year

1982-83: Martin Bolsover * 1984: Rod Birley * 1985: Chris Cramer * 1986: Paul Warwick * 1987: Eddie Irvine * 1988: Allan McNish * 1989: David Coulthard * 1990: Warren Hughes * 1991: Kelvin Burt * 1992: Oliver Gavin * 1993: Dario Franchitti * 1994: James Matthews * 1995: Guy Smith * 1996: Peter Dumbreck * 1997: Doug Bell * 1998: Richard Lyons * 1999: Andy Priaulx * 2000: Michael Caine * 2001: Mike Jordan * 2002: Danny Watts * 2003: Lewis Hamilton * 2004: James Pickford * 2005: Andrew Kirkaldy * 2006: Sam Bird * 2007: Duncan Tappy * 2008: Adam Christodoulou * 2009: Sarah Moore

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting