AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Greater Los Angeles Area

Greater Los Angeles Area
Full nameGreater Los Angeles|or Southland
Other nameLos Angeles-Long Beach-Riverside
Settlement typeCSA
CountryUnited States
Principal citiesLos Angeles
- Long Beach
- Glendale
- Lancaster
- Santa Ana
- Anaheim
- Irvine
- Oxnard
- Thousand Oaks
- Ventura
- Riverside
- San Bernardino
- Ontario
Metro Area33954 sq mi (87940.9 km2)
Elevation0 ft (0 - 3,505 m)
CSA17,786,419 (2nd)
Other information
Time zonePST (UTC-8)
- Summer (DST)PDT (UTC-7)

     Home | Metropolitan Area | Greater Los Angeles Area

The Greater Los Angeles Area, or the Southland, is a term used for the Combined Statistical Area (a group of interacting metropolitan areas) sprawled over five counties in the southern part of California, namely Los Angeles County, Orange County, San Bernardino County, Riverside County and Ventura County. It has been one of the fastest growing regions in the United States for decades, first in Los Angeles County, then Orange County, and now in the Inland Empire. As of 2005, the official estimate of the population of the Los Angeles metropolitan area is more than 12.9 million, while in 2009 the larger five-county region had a population of over 17.6 million. Either definition makes it the second-largest core-based statistical area in the country, behind the New York metropolitan area. The term "Southland" has also been used to refer to all of Southern California.

The agglomeration of urbanized Greater Los Angeles area surrounds the urban core of the county of Los Angeles, California. The urban term is defined to refer to the more-or-less continuously urbanized area stretching from Ventura to the southern border of Orange County, and from the Pacific Ocean to the Inland Empire. The Greater Los Angeles area is generally taken to include the Los Angeles metropolitan area, the Inland Empire, and Ventura County - all part of the Census Bureau define combined statistical area. The term "Greater Los Angeles" does not include San Diego and Imperial counties, whose urbanized areas are not geographically continuous with the urbanized area surrounding Los Angeles, rather San Diego is part of the large, but smaller urban area, San Diego � Tijuana.

The United States Census Bureau has designated the five county region as the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Riverside, CA combined statistical area, with a January 1, 2009 population estimate of 17,786,419. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the Los Angeles metropolitan area has a total area of 4850 sqmi (12561.4 km2), while the wider combined statistical area covers 33954 sqmi (87940.5 km2), but more than half of this is the sparsely populated eastern areas of Riverside and San Bernardino counties.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260