AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Down District Council

Down District Council is a Local Council in County Down in Northern Ireland. The Council is headquartered in Downpatrick. Other towns in the Council area are Ardglass, Ballynahinch, Castlewellan, Clough, Crossgar, Dundrum, Killough, Killyleagh, Newcastle, Saintfield, Seaforde and Strangford. It covers a population of nearly 64,000.

The Down District Council area consists of 4 electoral areas: Ballynahinch, Downpatrick, Newcastle and Rowallane. At the last election in 2005 23 Councillors were elected from the following political parties: 10 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 5 Sinn Féin, 4 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP), 3 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) and 1 Green Party. One of the UUP councillors has since defected to the Conservative Party. The current Council Chairman is Councillor Colin McGrath (SDLP) and the Vice Chair is Councillor William Dick (DUP).

In elections for the Westminster Parliament it is split between the Strangford constituency and the South Down constituency.

Down District Council Video
3.93 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Down District Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Down District Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Down District Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Northern_Ireland_district     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
Transcript of SCMA's remarks at a media session - 7thSpace Interactive (press release) Tweet this news
7thSpace Interactive (press release)---...- received various proposals regarding the practical arrangements for arranging the election of the new -District Council- functional constituency seats. ... - Date : Sun, 31 Oct 2010 08:53:32 GMT+00:00
Meridien Energy's customer base on a fall! - TopNews New Zealand Tweet this news
TopNews New Zealand---...- management is planning to host the Rotary Club of Waimate and Waimate -District council- which will be a invitation-only event at the Waimate Golf Club.--- - Date : Mon, 01 Nov 2010 09:10:25 GMT+00:00
Church hall is saved from demolition by planners - Burton Mail Tweet this news
Burton Mail--South Derbyshire -District Council's- planning department refused to grant permission for the original application on the grounds it would affect the setting ... - Date : Mon, 01 Nov 2010 08:14:26 GMT+00:00
ONGAR: New nature reserve welcomed with day of activities - Guardian Series Tweet this news
Guardian Series--Epping Forest -District Council- has been working hard with Ongar Town -Council- and volunteers from Countrycare to create the new Cripsey ... - Date : Mon, 01 Nov 2010 10:57:13 GMT+00:00
Council workers lose pay to smoke - BBC News Tweet this news
BBC News--Workers at a -district council- in Norfolk must now clock off and back on if they take a cigarette break. Staff at Breckland -Council- will no longer be paid ... - Date : Mon, 01 Nov 2010 08:56:49 GMT+00:00

Local authorities of Northern Ireland

Antrim * Ards * Armagh * Ballymena * Ballymoney * Banbridge * Belfast * Carrickfergus * Castlereagh * Coleraine * Cookstown * Craigavon * Derry * Down * Dungannon and South Tyrone * Fermanagh * Larne * Limavady * Lisburn * Magherafelt * Moyle * Newry and Mourne * Newtownabbey * North Down * Omagh * Strabane

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting