AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Coleraine Borough Council

Coleraine Borough Council is a local council mainly in County Londonderry and partly in County Antrim in Northern Ireland. Its headquarters are in the town of Coleraine. Small towns in the area include Garvagh, Portrush, Portstewart and Kilrea. The population of the area is just over 56,000.

The Coleraine Borough Council consists of four electoral areas: Coleraine East, Coleraine Central, The Skerries and Bann. In the last elections in 2005, 22 members were elected from the following political parties: 9 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), 8 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP), 3 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 1 Sinn Féin and 1 Independent. Following the resignation of a DUP councillor, who was jailed for electoral fraud Alliance Party candidate Barney Fitzpatrick was elected to serve on the Council from 14 December 2006. Unionist-controlled Coleraine Borough Council operates a rotation for positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor between the Ulster Unionist Party(UUP), Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) and the nationalist Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP). The next election was due to take place in May 2009, but on April 25, 2008, Shaun Woodward, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland announced that the scheduled 2009 district council elections were to be postponed until the introduction of the eleven new councils in 2011. The proposed reforms were abandoned in 2010, and the next district council elections will take place in 2011 The Mayor is currently Councillor William Alexander King of the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP).

The borough council area, together with the neighbouring district of Limavady, forms the East Londonderry constituency for elections to the Westminster Parliament and Northern Ireland Assembly.

Coleraine Borough Council Video

3.93 min. | 0 user rating
Hard-hitting investigations on the major stories affecting life in Northern Ireland. A week after a judge ruled convicted double killer Hazel Stewart should serve a minimum of 18 years, Mandy...
47.25 min. | 4.32 user rating
The Skydive Wildgeese DEMO team jumping into the Portrush Airwaves Airshow 2014.
2.43 min. | 5.0 user rating
Students get to grips with lampwork techniques during a special Glass Bead Making Workshop with Catherine Keenan at Flowerfield Arts Centre, Portstewart. Two two-day courses were offered as...
1.83 min. | 5.0 user rating
Local girl Louise Lyons carries the the Olympic Torch on the last leg of its relay in Portrush before lighting the Beacon on stage at the celebration concert.
5.70 min. | 5.0 user rating
Barazina means 'Creative Abundance' and these young people are bursting with energy, creativity and talent! Aged between 4-14 this Cross Community Choir from N. Ireland always enjoys performing.
4.28 min. | 5.0 user rating
Beyond Focus - Surf Video First of all Big thank you to Jamie Russell, was our tour guide all day, star in the video and was helping out with camera work. Paddy O'kane shot and edited...
2.37 min. | 4.0 user rating
Katy Graham of the Causeway Coast playing 'The Coolin' on the Harp at the Croi -Corrymeela, County Antrim. For more information visit
1.23 min. | 5.0 user rating
Bann Wheelers's Coleraine Crit May 2014. This video was produced by Allan Bogle.
2.40 min. | 5.0 user rating

2.12 min. | 0 user rating

Latest News : Coleraine Borough Council : Tweet this RSS

Want to Coleraine Borough Council latest news on your twitter account???   sign in with twitter
Coleraine Borough Council     sign in with twitter   ||  Northern_Ireland_district     sign in with twitter   ||  Other     sign in with twitter
NI Social Development Minister Launches Coleraine Education Project - eGov monitor Tweet this news
eGov monitor---Coleraine Borough Council-, DSD and the working groups for Ballysally, Millburn and Churchlands are demonstrating effective partnership working which is ... - Date : Thu, 07 Oct 2010 06:29:06 GMT+00:00

Year Name Political affiliation Deputy Deputy's affiliation
1973 - 77 A. N. Clarke John White
1977 - 1980 John White G. A. McIlrath
1980 - 83 G A McIlrath   C. R. Crawford
James McClure
1983 - 84 James McClure C. R. Crawford
1984 - 86 William King   A. N. Clarke
James McClure
1986 - 88 Elizabeth Black James McClure
1988 - 1990 William Watt James McClure
1990 - 92 Elizabeth Black James McClure
1992 - 93 William King James McClure
1993 - 1995 David McClarty William Matthews
1995 - 97 Pauline Armitage John Dallat
1997 - 99 James McClure   William Matthews
Elizabeth Johnston
1999 - 2000 Norman Hillis Olive Church
2000 - 01 Elizabeth Johnston Barbara Dempsey
2001 - 02 John Dallat Desmond Stewart
2002 - 03 Olive Church Gerry McLaughlin
2003 - 04 Desmond Stewart Eamon Mullan
2004 - 2005 Robert McPhearson James McClure
2005 - 06 Timothy Deans Maura Hickey
2006 - 07 William King Ellen Fielding
2007 - 08 Maurice Bradley Elizabeth Johnston

Local authorities of Northern Ireland

Antrim * Ards * Armagh * Ballymena * Ballymoney * Banbridge * Belfast * Carrickfergus * Castlereagh * Coleraine * Cookstown * Craigavon * Derry * Down * Dungannon and South Tyrone * Fermanagh * Larne * Limavady * Lisburn * Magherafelt * Moyle * Newry and Mourne * Newtownabbey * North Down * Omagh * Strabane

Privacy | Sitemap | Micra Hosting