AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Armagh City and District Council

     Home | Northern Ireland district | Armagh City and District Council

Armagh City and District Council is a district council in County Armagh in Northern Ireland. It includes the city of Armagh, as well as the surrounding area and its population is about 54,000. City status was officially conferred in 1995. Armagh has a long reputation as an administrative centre and the headquarters of the Southern Education and Library Board and the Southern Health and Social Services Board are currently located in the city. The Armagh Outreach Centre was established in 1995 and is linked to the Queen's University of Belfast. The heads of both the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland and the Church of Ireland reside in the city which was established by St Patrick as the Christian capital of Ireland. It also has some important Georgian architecture.

The district consists of four electoral areas: Armagh City, Cusher, Crossmore and The Orchard, from which 22 councillors are elected for a period of four years by proportional representation. At the last election in 2005 members were elected from the following political parties: 6 Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), 6 Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 5 Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) and 5 Sinn Féin. Councillor Paul Berry was elected for the DUP but is now an independent. The current mayor of Armagh is Councillor Jim Speers (UUP). The next election was due to take place in May 2009, but on April 25, 2008, Shaun Woodward, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland announced that the scheduled 2009 district council elections were to be postponed until the introduction of the eleven new councils in 2011. The proposed reforms were abandoned in 2010, and the next district council elections will take place in 2011

In May 2011 council elections the results were as followed;

4 (-2)Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), 5 (-1) Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP), 6 (+1) Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) and 6 (+1) Sinn Féin. Councillor Paul Berry was elected as an independent.

Together with part of the district of Newry and Mourne, it forms the Newry & Armagh constituency for elections to the Westminster Parliament and Northern Ireland Assembly.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260