AskBiography Logo   Latest News  Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Google Buzz  Became Fan - Facebook  Subscribe to RSSRSS   Bookmark and Share

Alaska Legislature

NameAlaska Legislature
Coa PicAlaska-StateSeal.svg
Term LimitsNone
New SessionJanuary 18, 2011
Session RoomAlaska State Capitol, Juneau.jpg
House TypeBicameral
House of Representatives
Leader1 TypePresident of the Senate
Leader1Gary Stevens
Election1January 20, 2009
Leader2 TypeSpeaker of the House
Leader2Mike Chenault
Election2January 20, 2009
AuthorityArticle 2, Alaska Constitution
Salary$50,400/year + per diem
Last Election1November 2, 2010
Next Election1November 6, 2012
RedistrictingAlaska Redistricting Board
Political Groups1Republican Party (34)
Democratic Party (26)
Meeting PlaceAlaska State Capitol
Juneau, Alaska

     Home | Legislature | Alaska Legislature

The Alaska Legislature is the state legislature of the U.S. state of Alaska. It is a bicameral institution, consisting of the lower Alaska House of Representatives, with 40 members, and the upper house Alaska Senate, with 20 members. With a total of 60 lawmakers, the Alaska Legislature is the smallest bicameral state legislature in the United States and the second-smallest of all state legislatures (only the 49-member unicameral Nebraska Legislature is smaller). There are no term limits for either chamber.

The Alaska Legislature meets in the State Capitol building in Juneau.

Warning: simplexml_load_file( [function.simplexml-load-file]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 410 Gone in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Warning: simplexml_load_file() [function.simplexml-load-file]: I/O warning : failed to load external entity "" in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 257

Fatal error: Call to a member function children() on a non-object in /home/askbio/public_html/index_bio.php on line 260